Zen Meeting Room, Japan by stefanx80 is licensed under CC BY-SA 2_edited.jpg

Meetings

R.A. Meeting Login,
Schedule and Script

LOGIN INFO

All Phone and Zoom meetings access are the same - except for Wed 7pm EST meeting.  
(Click for more info on how to log on) 

 

PHONE: 

+1 605-313-4488
ACCESS CODE: 798993#

 

ZOOM VIDEO with phone option
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89439583321

 

ZOOM PHONE:
US telephone dial in number 929 205 6099

* For international calls, find your local number at :  https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kJvAKSjqt

 

MEETING DAYS AND TIMES

 

  • SUNDAY 2 PM ET, = 1 PM CT, = 12 PM MT, = 11 AM PT (PHONE)
     

  • SUNDAY  Fellowship Wide Service Business Meeting 
    (3RD SUNDAY OF EACH MONTH) 3:15 PM ET, = 2:15 PM CT, = 1:15 PM MT, = 12:15 PM PT (PHONE)

  • MONDAY 8 PM ET, = 7 PM CT, = 6 PM MT, = 5 PM PT (ZOOM) 
     

  • TUESDAY 9 PM ET, = 8 PM CT, = 7 PM MT, = 6 PM PT (PHONE)
     

  • WEDNESDAY 9:30 PM ET, = 8:30 PM CT, = 7:30 PM MT, = 6:30 PM PT (PHONE)
     

  • WEDNESDAY 7 PM ET, = 6 PM CT, = 5 PM MT, = 4 PM P  (This meeting only: ZOOM ID: 810 303 990. Password: Anger101. Phone number 312 626 6799. Phone password 516396.)
     

  • THURSDAY 9 PM ET, = 8 PM CT, = 7 PM MT, = 6 PM PT (PHONE)​

  • FRIDAY 2 PM ET, = 1 PM CT, =  12 PM MT, = 11 PM PT (ZOOM)​
     

  • SATURDAY 4 PM ET = 3 PM CT, = 2 PM MT, = 1 PM PT (ZOOM) 


​ ALL MEETINGS ARE 1 HOUR LONG. *All US times are fixed to US local time and remain the same during Daylight Saving Time.

RA MEETING FORMAT
(Script and Readings)

 

[LEADER BEGINS:]

 

Welcome to today's meeting of Rageaholics Anonymous.

This is a closed meeting; open to all who identify as

Rageaholics and any newcomers.  We ask that all cell phones be

turned off or silenced at this time, except when sharing.

You may dial *6 to do so.

 

My name is_________________, I am a rageaholic.

 

Thank you for coming.  May we have a moment of silence,

followed by the Serenity Prayer:

 

"God, grant me the serenity to accept the things

I cannot change,  The courage to change the things I can,

and the wisdom to know the difference."

 

Rageaholics Anonymous is a fellowship of men and women who

share their experience, strength, and hope with each other that

they may solve their common problem and help other rageaholics

to recover from acting out in compulsive and destructive anger.

The only requirement for membership is the desire to stop raging.

 

There are no dues or fees for RA membership; we are self-supporting

through our own contributions.  RA is not allied with any sect,

denomination, politics, organization, or institution; does not

wish to engage in any controversy; neither endorses nor

opposes any causes.  Our primary purpose is to stay abstinent

from rage and help other rageaholics to achieve abstinence.

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

Would somebody please read THE TWELVE STEPS?    

 

                     THE TWELVE STEPS

    Adapted from the Twelve Steps of Alcoholics Anonymous,  pages 59 and 60.

 

1. We admitted we were powerless over rage-that our lives

      had become unmanageable.

 

2. Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves

      could restore us to sanity.

 

3. Made a decision to turn our will and our lives

      over to the care of God as we understood God.

 

4. Made a searching and fearless moral inventory of ourselves.

 

5. Admitted to God, to ourselves, and to another

      human being the exact nature of our wrongs.

 

6. Were entirely ready to have God remove all these defects of character.

 

7. Humbly asked God to remove our shortcomings.

 

8. Made a list of all persons we had harmed and became

     willing to make amends to them all.

 

9. Made direct amends to such people wherever possible,

     except when to do so would injure them or others.

 

10. Continued to take personal inventory and

       when we were wrong promptly admitted it.

 

11. Sought through prayer and meditation to improve our conscious

       contact with God as we understood God, praying only for knowledge

       of God's will for us and the power to carry that out.

 

12. Having had a spiritual awakening as the result of these steps,

       we tried to carry this message to rageaholics, and

       to practice  these principles in all our affairs.

 

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

Thank you, (reader's name) for reading.

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

Would somebody please read OUR COURSE?

 

                             OUR COURSE

    Adapted from pages 66 and 67 of "Alcoholics Anonymous"

 

It is plain that a life which includes deep resentment leads only to

futility and unhappiness.  To the precise extent that we permit these,

do we squander the hours that might have been worthwhile.

 

But with the rageaholic, whose hope is the maintenance and growth

of a spiritual experience, this business of resentment is infinitely grave.

We found that it is fatal.  For when harboring such feelings

we shut ourselves off from the sunlight of the Spirit.  The insanity of

rage returns and we act out again.  With us, to act out is to die.

 

If we were to live, we had to be free of anger. 

The grouch and the brainstorm were not for us.  They may be the

dubious luxury of normal men, but for rageaholics these things are poison.

 

We began to see that the world and its people really dominated us.

In that state, the wrong-doing of others, fancied or real,

had power to actually kill.  How could we escape?  We saw that these

resentments must be mastered, but how?  We could not wish them

away any more than we could our destructive anger.

 

This was our course:  We realized that the people who wronged us were

perhaps spiritually sick.  Though we did not like their symptoms and

the way these disturbed us, they, like ourselves, were sick too.

We asked God to help us show them the same tolerance, pity, and patience

that we would cheerfully grant a sick friend.  When a person offended

we said to ourselves, "This is a sick person.  How can I be helpful to them?

God save me from being angry.  Thy will be done."

 

We avoid retaliation or argument.  We wouldn't treat sick people that

way.  If we do, we destroy our chance of being helpful.  We cannot be

helpful to all people, but at least God will show us how to take a

kindly and tolerant view of each and every one.

 

Putting out of our minds the wrongs others had done, we resolutely

looked for our own mistakes.  Where had we been selfish, dishonest,

self-seeking, and frightened?  Though a situation had not been entirely

our fault, we tried to disregard the other person involved entirely.

Where were we to blame?  The inventory was ours, not the other person's.

When we saw our faults we listed them.  We placed them before us in

black and white.  We admitted our wrongs honestly and were willing to

set these matters straight.

 

(End of Reading)

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

Thank you, (reader's name) for reading.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

           Would somebody please read the ABSTINENCE STATEMENT?

             ABSTINENCE STATEMENT in Rageaholics Anonymous

 

Our primary purpose is to abstain from the behavior of rage, and

to help other rageaholics achieve abstinence. Abstinence may

differ among RA members depending on how individuals choose

to define their bottom line behaviors.  Bottom line behaviors

are characterized by anger that is compulsive and harmful in nature,

and which leads to pitiful and incomprehensible demoralization.

Some rageaholics may engage in behaviors from which other rageaholics

find they must abstain; in RA, we leave the choice up to the individual.

"Progress rather than perfection" is the atmosphere for

growth that we seek to promote.

 

It is the hope of RA to provide the rageaholic with a new experience

toward dealing with anger that is both non-compulsive and

non-destructive.  Such an approach is possible to all

who earnestly desire it.

 

(End of Reading)

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

Thank you, (reader's name) for reading.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

Now is the time we welcome newcomers.  A newcomer is described

as anyone attending his or her first Rageaholics Anonymous meeting,

or this particular meeting for the first time.

 

We have set aside time for newcomers to share at the end of the meeting.

If you are a newcomer, you are welcome to introduce yourself

at this time by your first name.   This is not to embarrass you,

but so that we may get to know you better.

 

Are there any newcomers in attendance who wish to identify

themselves at this time?

 

[PAUSE TO LET NEWCOMERS, IF ANY, INTRODUCE THEMSELVES.]

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

Welcome, name(s) -- We are glad you are here!

 

[SKIP BELOW IF THERE ARE NEWCOMERS:]

Since there are no Newcomers,

(continue to next line)

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

We will now go around the globe and introduce ourselves, stating

our first name and our disease.

 

[MEMBERS INTRODUCE THEMSELVES]

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 Thank You All

 

Would someone like to be the timer?

Thank you, (timer's name.)

 

Please keep your sharing to 4 minutes or less.

The timer will sound after 3 minutes, leaving

1 minute to wrap up.

When sharing, please acknowledge (timer's name)

when (s)he says 1 min by saying Thank

You and please say Thank You again when (s)he says Time.

 

In sharing, members may discuss their individual rage behaviors, as

well as the length and nature of their abstinence.  In the spirit of

love and respect, this meeting asks that during sharing, members not

engage in cross-talk. 

 

Specifically, we refrain from questioning or commenting while another person is sharing. 

We also avoid referring critically or judgmentally to anyone else's share. 

We steer clear of charged or triggering statements as well as acting out our anger in the group.

Instead, we attempt to express the feelings beneath our rage in an effort to seek

awareness, objectivity, and the willingness to surrender our disease.

 

We will now have open sharing until 20 minutes before the end of the hour.

At that time, newcomers may share, if they care to, followed by

burning desires if time allows.

 

At 15 minutes before end of our hour, sharing will

conclude for Fellowship Announcements.

 

Who would like to begin sharing?

 

[MEMBERS SHARE] 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[AT ABOUT 20 MINUTES BEFORE THE END OF THE HOUR]

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

That's all the time we have for sharing.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

It is now time for Fellowship Announcements.

 

RA's 7th tradition states, "Every RA Group ought to be fully self-supporting, declining outside contributions."
 

Donations pay for our Zoom account, website, and literature.

Contributions can be made through CashApp, Zelle, Paypal, and check.

The instructions for donating are posted on our 7th Tradition page, at https://www.rageaholicsanonymous.org/7th-tradition

Any other fellowship announcements for the good of the group?
 

[Leader allows other fellowship announcements] 

It is suggested that each group hold a business meeting for 15 minutes once per month.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[AFTER ANNOUNCEMENTS:]
 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

In closing, we would like to say that the opinions expressed here

were those of the person who gave them.  Take what you like and leave

the rest.  The things you heard were spoken in confidence and should

be treated as confidential. So remember:  Who you see here, when you

leave here, let it stay here.

 

[GROUP:] Here, here!

 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

A few words to those of you who have not been with us long, whatever

your problems, there are those among us who have had them too.

 

If you can keep an open mind, you will come to realize

that there is no situation too difficult to be overcome

and no unhappiness too great to be lessened.  Talk to each other.

Reason things out.  But let there be no gossip or criticism.

Instead, let the understanding, peace, and love

of the program grow in you one day at a time.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

Would somebody please read GAINING IN HUMILITY?

 

 

                            GAINING IN HUMILITY

Adapted from pages 47 and 48 of the "Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions" of Alcoholics Anonymous

 

We thought "conditions" incited our anger, and when we tried

to correct these conditions and found that we couldn't to

our entire satisfaction, our anger went out of hand and we

became rageaholics.  It never occurred to us that we needed to

change ourselves to meet conditions, whatever they were.

 

But in RA we slowly learned that something had to be done about

our vengeful resentments, self-pity, and unwarranted pride.

We had to see that every time we played the big shot, we turned

people against us.  We had to see that when we harbored grudges

and planned revenge for such defeats, we were really beating

ourselves with the club of anger we had intended to use on others.

We learned that if we were seriously disturbed, our first need was to

quiet that disturbance, regardless of who or what we thought caused it.

 

To see how erratic emotions victimized us often took a long time.

We could perceive them quickly in others, but only slowly in ourselves.

First of all, we had to admit that we had many of these defects, even

though such disclosures were painful and humiliating.  Where other

people were concerned, we had to drop the word "blame" from our

speech and thought.

 

This required great willingness even to begin.  But once

over the first two or three high hurdles, the course began to look

easier.  For we started to get perspective on ourselves, which is

another way of saying that we were gaining in humility.

 

(End of Reading)

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

Thank you, (reader's name) for reading.

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]

Would somebody please read the promises in regard to working the ninth step?

 

                            THE NINTH STEP PROMISES

      

From pages 83 and 84 of The Big Book, "Alcoholics Anonymous"

 

1. If we are painstaking about this phase of our development,

      we will be amazed before we are half way through.

 

2. We are going to know a new freedom and a new happiness.

 

3. We will not regret the past nor wish to shut the door on it.

 

4. We will comprehend the word serenity and we will know peace.

 

5. No matter how far down the scale we have gone, we will see

      how our experience can benefit others.

 

6. That feeling of uselessness and self-pity will disappear.

 

7. We will lose interest in selfish things and gain

      interest in our fellows.

 

8. Self-seeking will slip away.

 

9. Our whole attitude and outlook upon life will change.

 

10. Fear of people and of economic insecurity will leave us.

 

11. We will intuitively know how to handle situations which

      used to baffle us.

 

12. We will suddenly realize that God is doing for us

      what we could not do for ourselves.

 

Are these extravagant promises? We think not. They are being fulfilled among us - sometimes quickly, sometimes slowly.  They will always materialize if we work for them.


(End of Reading)

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[LEADER CONTINUES:]
 

Thank you [Reader's name] for reading. 

 

Bill Wilson wrote:  "When brimming with gratitude, one's

heart must surely result in outgoing love, the finest emotion

that we can ever know."

 

It is tradition to end this meeting by acknowledging our gratitude.

Someone begin and continuing around the call, all who care to are

invited to share one thing they feel grateful for in their lives today.

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

[AFTER GROUP SHARES]


[LEADER CONTINUES:]

 

Keeping in our thoughts the rageaholic who still suffers, on and off of

this call, will all who care to figuratively stand and join hands, as we

recite the We version of the Serenity Prayer, after a moment of silence?

 

"God, grant US the serenity to accept the things

WE cannot change, the courage to change the things WE can,

and the Wisdom to know the difference.

 

                   Thank You for a great meeting.

---------------------------------------------------------------------